Seven Ways to Fail at Cloud Security

Date: Friday, January 22nd at 9:00am PST / 12pm EST

Let’s face the grim facts. The failure of digital transformation projects for many businesses has a myriad of reasons.

Ian Thornton-Trump CD will present his “seven evil samurai of cloud fail.” It’s been an ugly year for many organizations which had to suddenly support 10’s, 100’s or even thousands of work-from-home staff. This situation led many business to do “terrible cloud things” placing security improvements and compliance efforts on the back burner in favor of an “All Gas, No Brakes” approach to supporting remote users.

Sure some of the issues fall on the hosting providers themselves who will gladly take an organization’s money with little regard for security or compliance concerns. In other cases, the lack of a plan for software and hardware lifecycle management made cloud transformation an ugly nightmare.

The bottom line is what organizations think they know about cloud security controls for confidentiality, integrity and availability is in many cases a hostile alien landscape.

Fear not – a little wisdom and knowledge can end the cloud suffering.

Register now!


This session is the first session of the three-hour Enterprise Cloud Security Summit. Register for this session and you are free to attend all three sessions.

Sessions include:

9 a.m. PDT / 12 noon EDT
Seven Ways to Fail at Cloud Security

10 a.m. PDT / 1 p.m. EDT
10 Things Every IT Manager MUST Know About Cloud Security

11 a.m. PDT / 2 p.m. EDT
Expert Best Practices for Hardening Your Enterprise Hybrid Cloud Infrastructure

About the presenter:

Ian Thornton-Trump, CISO, Cyjax

Ian Thorton-Trump, CISO, at Cyjax. Ian is an ITIL certified IT professional with 25 years of experience in IT security and information technology. From 1989 to 1992, Ian served with the Canadian Forces (CF), Military Intelligence Branch; in 2002, he joined the CF Military Police Reserves and retired as a Public Affairs Officer in 2013.

After a year with the RCMP as a Criminal Intelligence Analyst, Ian worked as a cyber-security analyst/consultant for multi-national insurance, banking and regional health care.

Today, as Chief Information Security Officer for Cyjax Ltd., Ian has deep experience with the threats facing small, medium and enterprise businesses. His research and experience have made him a sought-after cyber security consultant specializing in cyber threat intelligence programs for small, medium and enterprise organizations.

In his spare time, he teaches cyber security and IT business courses for CompTIA as part of their global faculty and is the lead architect for CyberTitan, Canada's efforts to encourage the next generation of cyber professionals.

Date: 01/22/2021

Time: 9:00am PT

Your e-mail address is used to communicate with you about your registration, related products and services, and offers from select vendors. Refer to our Privacy Policy for additional information.