Pop Quiz

Credential Caching (Exam 70-642)

Which are the respective forest and domain functional levels required for credential caching and fine-grained password policies when using Windows Server 2008?

  1. Windows Server 2003 and Windows Server 2008
  2. Windows Server 2008 and Windows Server 2003
  3. Windows Server 2008 and Windows Server 2008
  4. Windows Server 2003 and Windows Server 2003

D. Windows Server 2003 forest and Windows Server 2003 domain functional level s are required at a minimum.

There are few additional benefits in Windows 2008 when raising the forest and domain functional levels from 2003 to 2008.

Credential caching is the storage of user or computer credentials of approximately 10 passwords per security principal which can be configured on RODCs. Fine-grained passwords, or the ability to define more than one password policy per domain, is a new feature available when Windows 2008 domain controllers are present.

Tip: Before using fine-grained passwords you must run adprep found in Windows 2008 to extend the schema.

Tech Reference: "AD DS: Fine-Grained Password Policies" (TechNet)

About the Author

Andy Barkl, MCT/MCITP/MCSA, A+, Network+, Security+, CCNA has been studying technology for 30 years. Of the last 15 years, he has spent much of his time parting the knowledge and experience he has gained through IT exams, over 300, to help others be prepared and successful. He teaches classes in Phoenix, Ariz. where he has lived most of his life. He can be reached by e-mail at [email protected]

comments powered by Disqus

SharePoint Watch

Sign up for our newsletter.

Terms and Privacy Policy consent

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.